I Love Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week!


A group of model present creations as part of Dolce&Gabbana's Spring/Summer 2011 women's collection during Milan Fashion Week September 26, 2010. REUTERS/Alessandro Garofalo r(ITALY - Tags: FASHION)

I love Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week so much! It’s my favourite time of year when it comes to Fashion. I just love seeing the new styles for the coming seasons! So many amazing designers take part in this huge event, it’s incredible! You get to see brands like Dolce & Gabbana, Marc Jacobs, Miu Miu, Fendi, Stella McCartney, Balmain, Balenciaga, Betsey Johnson, Rebecca Minkoff, L.A.M.B, Calvin Klein, Vera Wang, Alexander Wang, Hermes, Charlotte Ronson, Lanvin, Chanel, Christian Dior, Alexander McQueen (and so many more I don’t have time to list them!) all around the same time. It’s one of the biggest fashion experiences you can have! Right now the designers are showing their Spring/Summer 2011 collections and I’m covering as many of the runway shows as possible.

The clothes I love to see most on the runways are the dresses. Mostly the evening dresses as they are usually stunning and so over the top! Bright colours are used and huge materials, it’s all about making the biggest and perfect evening gowns. The day dresses are also very fun to look at, they are often short and very girly with floral prints. This years theme was mainly neutral tones of white, cream, beige and taupes. Some designers did choose to stray away from those tones and go for very bright and bold colours! Betsey Johnson was one of these designers with her fluro dresses!

Unfortunately, during Fashion Week, there is never much denim present. If you look at the brands who normally do denim like Diesel Black Gold then you will find the odd few pieces floating around but it’s mainly couture clothes. As much as I love seeing denim every day I think Fashion Week is a nice change to have a break from it for a bit, even though I could eat, sleep and breathe denim! I do like to look at other clothes as well.

Another thing I love about Fashion Week is the amount of outfits the celebrities turn up in to support their favourite designers. They are always dressed immaculately and look fantastic. Sometimes they wear the vintage clothes from a designers previous collections and it’s so fun to see! Supermodels look hot too! A few looks I have loved are Sarah Jessica Parker’s at the Burberry Prorsum show and Elle MacPherson’s at the Julien Macdonald show. There honestly are too many to name though! Literally everyone looks amazing!

I have to say, so far, as Fashion Week is still going on, the most common garment on the runway is dresses. I didn’t think it would be anything less as it’s the Spring/Summer 2011 collections being shown but I was hoping for some more skirts and shorts. The shoes are also getting higher and higher each time! A few models have tripped on the sky scraping high heels and broken them though. I hope they bring out some cute flats as well! Bags were also very cute and girly this season, in a lot of pale shades and florals or completely the opposite and in animal prints and bold shapes. There was a lot of tailoring present in the runway shows as well, jackets and trousers were taking to the catwalk in sharp and fitted styles, giving very clean and sophisticated silhouettes.

And finally, one of the best things about Fashion Week is that it goes all around the world! It starts with New York Fashion Week and then heads to London Fashion Week before Milan Fashion Week and then finally hitting Paris Fashion Week. After looking at the schedules for the shows, I think Paris Fashion Week is going to be my favourite and it’s kicking off tomorrow (28th September 2010). There are going to be so many amazing designers there and I honestly can’t wait to see the new collections! It looks like one of my favourite brands, Miu Miu, will be closing Paris Fashion Week too, it’s going to be the final presentation.

I plan on going to as many shows as I can go to next time, I’m hoping to be able to make it to Paris for the Spring/Summer 2012 collections but if I can’t then I will just stick with the London shows instead of doing both. Unfortunately London doesn’t get that many great designers doing presentations but I guess you have to take what you can get! So are you enjoying Fashion Week?

Click here to read all of my Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week runway posts.

(Follow me on Twitter, Bloglovin and Facebook)

Models present creations as part of Dolce&Gabbana's Spring/Summer 2011 women's collection during Milan Fashion Week September 26, 2010. REUTERS/Alessandro Garofalo (ITALY - Tags: FASHION SOCIETY IMAGES OF THE DAY)

2 responses

  1. Pingback: I Love Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week! « Raindrops of Sapphire | Mercedes-Benz

  2. Pingback: Small Business Consultants Can Help Small Businesses Demystify The Big World Of Internet Marketing | Articlewrap.com

Leave a Reply

